Archive for September, 2011

Rep. Mickey Stephens Trades in Suit Coat for Lab Coat

ATLANTA – State Representative Mickey Stephens (D-Savannah), along with a select group of other state leaders from around the country, is currently participating in a “Legislator in the Lab” meeting, being held today and tomorrow, September 27-28, at the University of Texas Health Science Center and the Medical Arts and Research Center in San Antonio, Texas. This one-and-a-half day program is designed to let leaders in the health field share their expertise with state legislators who have a strong interest in health care policy. (more…)

Rep. Jay Neal Attends “Addiction Studies Program for the States”

ATLANTA – State Representative Jay Neal (R-LaFayette), recently attended the Addiction Studies Program for the States in Washington, DC. This three-day conference, held from September 15-17, 2011, focused on the topic of reforming and integrating addiction treatment and primary care. (more…)

Rep. Chuck Martin Recognized as Outstanding State Legislator for 2011 by the Georgia Council on Aging

ATLANTA – State Representative Chuck Martin (R-Alpharetta) recently received the Outstanding State Legislator for 2011 Award from the Georgia Council on Aging (GCOA). The Council chose Rep. Martin for this award in recognition of his work to secure the passage of Senate Bill 178, which established the “assisted living community” as a new category of long-term health care provider in Georgia. (more…)

Rep. Sharon Beasley-Teague Tapped for NFLW Leadership Position

ATLANTA – State Representative Sharon Beasley-Teague (D-Red Oak) was recently elected to serve in the leadership of the National Order of Women Legislators (NOWL), the nation’s oldest organization addressing the needs of elected women at all levels of government. NOWL serves as the membership arm of the National Foundation for Women Legislators (NFWL). (more…)

Rep. Chuck Martin Elected SLC Energy and Environment Committee Chair

ATLANTA – State Representative Chuck Martin (R-Alpharetta) has been reelected as chairman of the Southern Legislative Conference’s (SLC) Energy and Environment Committee. (more…)