Rep. Tommy Benton Elected Treasurer of the Rural Caucus

ATLANTA – State Representative Tommy Benton (R-Jefferson) has been elected treasurer of the House Rural Caucus, the largest non-partisan caucus in the Georgia House of Representatives.

Consisting of approximately 55 House members, the Rural Caucus was created eight years ago to address issues affecting rural areas and rural communities.

The caucus also elected Representative Jason Shaw (R-Lakeland) as Chairman, Representative Debbie Buckner (D-Junction City) as Vice Chairman, and Representative Jan Tankersley (R-Brooklet) as Secretary.