Rep. Karla Drenner Named to Southern Legislative Conference Energy and Environment Committee

ATLANTA— House Speaker David Ralston (R-Blue Ridge) today announced the appointment of state Representative Karla Drenner (D-Avondale Estates) to the Southern Legislative Conference (SLC) Energy and Environment Committee. As the presiding officer of the Georgia House of Representatives, Speaker Ralston is charged with selecting members to represent Georgia within SLC.

“I am honored to have been chosen by Speaker Ralston to be one of the representatives of Georgia,” said Rep. Drenner. “I am excited to have this opportunity to promote sound energy and environmental policy in the region, in addition to in my home state.”

The Energy and Environment Committee is one of the SLC’s Standing Committees. According to SLC, the Committee has studied clean water programs and water permitting; alternative energy; the federal Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP); state compliance with federal clean air and water standards; the future for nuclear power; the role of merchant power plants; the ramifications of deregulation on Southern states; growth and sprawl; and surveyed recent legislative and state public utility activity.

Founded in 1947, the Southern Legislative Conference is the largest of four regional legislative groups operating under the Council of State Governments. The 15 SLC member states are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia. By working together within the SLC and participating on its committees, Southern state legislative leaders are able to speak in a distinctive, unified voice to address the issues that affect their states and the greater region.

For more information about SLC and its Energy and Environment Committee, please click here.

Representative Karla Drenner represents the citizens of District 85, which includes portions of DeKalb County. She was elected into the House of Representatives in 2000, and currently serves on the Energy, Utilities & Telecommunications, Health & Human Services, Natural Resources & Environment, Rules, and Small Business Development committees.