Rep. Jason Spencer Named Chairman of Subcommittee on Commercial Space

ATLANTA – State Representative Ed Setzler (R-Acworth), Chairman of the House Science and Technology Committee, recently named Representative Jason Spencer (R-Woodbine) as Chairman of the Subcommittee on Commercial Space. The subcommittee will refine the ongoing efforts to bring the commercial space industry to Georgia.

“I am appreciative of Chairman Setzler’s appointment to chair this select subcommittee within the House Science & Technology Committee,” said Rep. Spencer. “This year, the House of Representatives took a bold step by declaring their overwhelming support for the Georgia Space Flight Act, a bill to bring high-tech commercial space industry jobs to Georgia. However, our efforts have made it clear that further policy study of the issue is necessary to fully inform members of the General Assembly of what it will take to make Georgia truly competitive with other space states like Texas and Florida.”

“Rep. Spencer is recognized as the key leader within the state Capitol on the issue of commercial space and has demonstrated significant policy expertise on matters affecting the commercial space industry in Georgia,” said Chairman Setzler. “As shown by his leadership on the Georgia Space Flight Act this year, Rep. Spencer is uniquely qualified to work through the final details of this effort to secure its passage in 2017.”

The seven member subcommittee, chaired by Rep. Spencer, will meet during the summer and fall to finalize the legal details needed to put in place the enabling legislation to spark the growth of the commercial space industry in Georgia. The subcommittee will issue a report of its findings to the full House Science and Technology Committee and the House of Representatives.

“Georgia has a unique opportunity to position itself as an aerospace industry leader due to its education, key infrastructure, and strategic location,” said Rep. Spencer.

Representative Jason Spencer represents the citizens of District 180, which includes Camden, Charlton, and Ware counties. He was elected into the House of Representatives in 2010, and currently serves as the Secretary of the Special Rules Committee. He also serves on the Game Fish & Parks, Human Relations & Aging, Juvenile Justice, and Science & Technology committees.