Rep. Alan Powell Receives 2017 ACCG Legislative Service Award

ATLANTA – State Representative Alan Powell (R-Hartwell) recently received a 2017 Association of County Commissioners of Georgia (ACCG) Legislative Service Award. ACCG, Georgia’s county association, recognized Rep. Powell for his work on House Bill 446 during the 2017 legislative session.

“I’m proud to receive this prestigious recognition from ACCG,” said Rep. Powell. “ACCG is committed to bettering the lives of all Georgians at the county level, and it is an honor to receive an award from such a distinguished organization. I’d like to extend my sincerest gratitude to ACCG for their work on behalf of Georgia’s county governments, and I look forward to continuing my efforts to pass House Bill 446 in the upcoming legislative session.”

Rep. Powell, chairman of the House Public Safety and Homeland Security Committee, was recognized by ACCG for sponsoring House Bill 446, also known as the “9-1-1 bill,” during the 2017 legislative session of the Georgia General Assembly. He also carried Senate Bill 222, the counterpart of HB 446, on the House floor. HB 446 would create the Local Government 9-1-1 Authority, which would provide coordination, planning, auditing and other best practices and standards for the operation of 9-1-1 centers. The measure also would protect 9-1-1 revenues at the local level.

Each year, ACCG presents Legislative Service Awards to recognize Georgia House and Senate members who work towards fulfilling ACCG’s mission of advancing Georgia’s county governments. The annual awards have gained recognition among elected and appointed officials as a prestigious way to acknowledge Georgia lawmakers for exemplary leadership.

“The ACCG Legislative Service Awards honor those who understand the importance of county governments and use their position to make Georgia a better place by purposefully improving the lives of citizens,” said ACCG Executive Director Ross King. “They are a reflection of what true government collaboration looks like.”

ACCG is Georgia’s county association and works on behalf of county officials and their communities by providing public policy and legislative advocacy, leadership development, civic and community engagement initiatives, insurance and retirement programs that specialize in local government needs and other cost-saving programs.  Formed in 1914 when county officials came together to help fund the state’s first highway department, ACCG today serves as a catalyst for advancing Georgia’s counties.

For more information on ACCG, please click here.

Representative Alan Powell represents the citizens of District 32, which includes portions of Franklin, Hart, and Madison counties. He was elected into the House of Representatives in 1990, and currently serves as the Chairman of Public Safety & Homeland Security. He also serves on the Appropriations Subcommittee on Public Safety and the Governmental Affairs, Motor Vehicles, Regulated Industries, Rules, and Small Business Development committees.


Posted November 17th, 2017 in Alan Powell. Tagged: , , .